Tuckered Out!

Published August 17, 2011 by jay p laughlin

After an exciting trip to Evergreen, CO for my lil’ sister-in-law’s wedding, ZK was tuckered out. Meeting aunts and uncles, cousins, second cousins, cousins twice and thrice removed, in-laws and out-laws, followed by a ride in a plane is exhausting work for a 10-month old. But she was a trooper and took it all in with joy.

Tuckered Out!

At the end of it all, thumb-in-mouth, ZK fell asleep in my arms and I was thrilled. One of my favorite things as a new father was to look down at my sleeping infant on my chest. Sadly, this didn’t last long. Though she would sleep for hours strapped to my chest during her first few weeks,  by 2 months of age she was done with it. It happened suddenly and took me by surprise. One day she was sleeping soundly in her Moby Wrap, the next she cried. Part of me panicked thinking I had placed her in it incorrectly. But no matter how I shifted her around she wouldn’t sleep. Wounded, I decided to try again the next day. Again, she hated it. I assumed she was just asserting a bit of her baby independence. It happened a bit earlier than I would have hoped but really, if I’m being completely honest, it would have always been earlier than I’d hoped. So with disappointed resignation I retired the Moby Wrap.

It’s not that she never sleeps in my arms. It just doesn’t happen with the twice a day regularity of the past. But, in moments like these, when we’ve kept her busy for the whole day and she’s had little rest, she sometimes struggles to stay awake. With heavy lids you can watch her try to rally but the weight of impending rest pulls her into slumber. I cherish these moments…every one of them.

Leave a Reply

